Flowers in the Moss land

Autumn is a special season for me. The bloom of the colors and the winter that follows, just, draws an awe from me – every time. I can easily find myself, standing still, in a forest (all of them – those a city has created, left behind or not yet reached) and.. just watching the colors that live in them between the hours of a day. It is something, not easily described or pictured, as it is not about the color variations, but the feeling that they deliver. And those cannot be photoshopped.

I think I’m lucky to experience all four seasons, every year. The serenade of life by nature. So. I tried to knit some of those shades, without making it a kaleidoscope.. keeping it simple by letting the yarn do the talking. As in.. i spotted this color in the shop, it was 100% alpaca.. and i had to get it because it reminded me of autumn and the bed of moss in a natural forest.

This sweater started from an actual pattern (Ready for Fall-Sweater by Pickles), but after the hem, it dawned on me “i wanna do something different”. Well for me different. Knitting inside out. Easy. Plain knitting, with easy-peasy lace. Some beads. Raglan. Turn it around – all set.

I’ve always had trouble following a plan. When it’s knitting or cooking. I just, prefer to kick in my own twist. 😛

I wanted to knit a long – but airy – yet warm, sweater for fall and winter. Something I could wear at the office and not sweat bullets. Something i can snuggle into when knitting another piece while keeping an eye on the supply of Netflix Finland 😛

process & etc

This was a super simple knit. Thou, from bottom-up. I’m more used to top-down now-a-days. I feel, it’s less stressful. As the knit can easily be fitted while under process.

As i started.. i wanted to knit up some lace into the hem, right after the ribbing on body and sleeves. Reasoning? To let air flow thru – some ventilation 😀 also to give it a different texture.

Raglan is a very easy technique to use in a fitting sweater. From top-down or bottom-up. The fit can vary by the increase/decrease rounds, in the intensity or of a loop-pattern of few rows. Here i used the latter. Decreases on every 2nd row for 30 times and then into the ribbing of the neckline. Vola. What makes raglan – sooooo – easy, is that you can see where you’re going. There’s never a “damn is this a increase round?!” As.. you can see it from the marked stitches. A increase or decrease, even if well hidden are quite distinct in the process. Sure it can take a few rounds to see the difference between a row that has de/increases in it to a one without (for a beginner). But when you notice them, you see them always. Please, tell me, if I’m wrong. Because this is one those techniques i sell to people giving knitting a try. Have I been an arrogant fool for those desperate beginners? My motto is “Don’t start with socks, start with a raglan sweater” 😛 (no needle size recommended).

facts

Yarn: Drops Alpaca (7223) x6

Needles: 4mm/US 6

Beads: from Helmimeri (Tampere). Wooden. (Yes. I know. Wooden beads in a knit? Idiot-alert. But i couldn’t help myself. The color was exactly what I was looking for and I don’t care if they lose their vibrance in washing – or split in half. The beads whispered “use us!” and i did.) 😉

Pattern: This piece was inspired from the Ready for Fall-Sweater by Pickles (>>>to the awesome pattern).

Leave a Reply

